I’m a graduate!

3 May

Last night, I officially completed the Couch to 5K program!

I still can’t believe that I did it.   9 weeks ago, I could barely run 3 minutes, and now I can run for 30 minutes!   It wasn’t easy, and there were days that I wanted to give up, but I am so proud of myself for seeing it through to the end!

In the past 9 weeks, I have felt so much better about myself in general.   I might not have lost any weight (and since I didn’t take measurements, I don’t know where I stand there either) but I was definitely feeling pretty good.    During the final week, I strained my hamstring and had to take 5 days of rest.  It felt like 5 days of torture (I can’t believe I’m even saying that- the old me totally would have used it as an excuse to quit).   The longer I went without a run, the worse I felt about myself in general.  By day 5, I was back to my old ways of critiquing myself in the mirror and changing clothes ten times to hide all my “trouble spots”.  Then, miraculously, after just one really good run, I felt just fine about myself again.   I am starting to think that the runner’s high has a lot more to do with just how I feel immediately after the run!

As a reward for sticking with it, I got this :

For months now, I have been putting $1 into a jar for every 30 minute workout to save up for the Kindle.   I really needed motivation to exercise more consistently, and this plan seemed to work for me.  I knew it would take a long time to save up the money, but I wanted to earn it.   During the final week of C25K, my wonderful husband took it upon himself to complete my fund with a portion of his own “fun” money,  and the next thing I knew, I had a Kindle!  **Squee!**  I love, love, love it.  I pretty much haven’t stopped reading it since it showed up on my front porch!

So now that C25K is behind me, I’m definitely going to keep on running, but I feel like I can focus on other things again.  I didn’t want to overwhelm myself, so I wasn’t stressing myself out over food the last 9 weeks.  Now the next step is going to be to get my eating back on track and maybe actually lose these pesky 10 lbs I’ve been working on for 6 months now!

Leave a Reply

