Counting and tracking

19 May

Have you ever just needed a break from counting points/calories, even if it’s just for one day?   I’m not talking about one of those days where you’ve done so poorly that you’ve just given up.  I mean a day when you’ve eaten just fine, are probably at or below the calorie goal anyhow, but just don’t have the energy or motivation to keep track.    That’s where I’m at today.

I’ve been following the Weight Watcher’s plan since 2003, and I’ve had enough ups and downs to know that I HAVE to write every single thing I eat down or I won’t lose weight.  When you’ve been doing something that long though, there are bound to be times when you just don’t give it your all.

Most likely, I’ll be back in the right mindset tomorrow, but it was nice to have a day off from tracking my food.  Even after 7 years, I still will never understand why some days following a weight loss plan can seem so easy and effortless, and the very next day it can seem so daunting.

So how do you keep track of your points/calories?   Do you use an online tracker, good old fashioned pen and paper, a smartphone, or some other method?       I switch back and forth between online and paper.  I found this cute printable food journal a while back, and I have been using it this week.   Most of the time writing it out helps me get back to basics when I’m struggling.

One Response to “Counting and tracking”

  1. Kristin May 20, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    I feel the same way. I’ve been on WW off and on since fall 2002. I think this is the very reason that I’ve fallen off the wagon so many times. I get tired of tracking every little thing, all the time.

    This time around, I’m writing everything down in a paper tracker. I’m about a month into a three-month journal I bought at a meeting. Something about physically writing it down seems to be working better than tracking online.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

